River Area Council of Governments January 24, 2024

Members present: T. Adsit, Y. Boliver, S. Doyle, B. Dutton, N. Dutton, J. Jones, R. Mullin, M. Souva, T. Stewart, and T. Widrick

Chairman Peck called the meeting to order at 6:00pm at the V/Copenhagen Municipal Building. A quorum of six (6) voting members was present.

R. Mullin, seconded by T. Widrick to approve the minutes of September 27, 2023 as presented. Ayes-6, Nays-0. Motion carried.

Amber Swan, Associate Circuit Rider, introduced herself.

Motion by R. Mullin, seconded by B. Dutton to elect Paul Smith as RACOG Chairman. Ayes-6, Nays-0. Motion carried.

Motion by Y. Boliver, seconded by J. Jones to elect Yvonne Boliver as Vice-Chairman. Ayes-6, Nays-0. Motion carried.

M. Dietrich updated the Board on a number of ongoing initiatives. B. Peck advised the component boards to finalize their ARPA projects to assure that the resources they may need will be available. Members questioned whether the proposed BOCES water/wastewater operator course would provide eligibility for those students to be certified. M. Dietrich responded that the course work will satisfy all the necessary class time but that hands on experience will still be necessary through internships and employment to receive certification.

Motion by T. Widrick, seconded by M. Souva to approve the 2024 RACOG budget as presented. Ayes-6, Nays-0. Motion carried.

Motion by T. Widrick, seconded by Y. Boliver to approve support for the THC Local Government Conference at the bronze level (\$500). Ayes-6, Nays-0. Motion carried.

Motion by R. Mullin, seconded by T. Widrick to approve the contract with Amber Swan and to cover the cost for the hotel and mileage to attend the Local Government Conference. Ayes-6, Nays-0. Motion carried.

Motion by M. Souva, seconded by T. Widrick to admit the Town of Watson as a member of RACOG. Ayes-6, Nays-0. Motion carried.

Motion by R. Mullin, seconded by Y. Boliver to approve the Carthage Elks Club as the venue for the Economic Visioning Summit and to approve an expenditure not to exceed \$600 for the luncheon. Ayes-6, Nays-0. Motion carried.

Motion by M. Souva, seconded by R. Mullin to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 6:47pm.

Christina Vargulick
Christina Vargulick
RACOG Secretary